5:20 pm - Thursday February 9, 2012

Domain Name Conflict – Spammers Beware

  • Share
  • Share

Siddick one of the authors of ByteChip received an Email today, informing him that some Organization in China is going to start a new Investment Company by the name “ByteChip” and they sent a kind of legal (fake)  letter asking us to hand over the domain to them. Unfortunately I don’t have a category in ByteChip called “Humour” so I’m posting this on “Web” icon biggrin Domain Name Conflict   Spammers Beware .

Have a look at the crap Email sent by the person.

Dear Manager:

We are a Domain Name registration service company, which is a professional Internet Domain Name Registration and dispute resolution organization in China.
On March.24th,2010, We received HAITONG Investment company’s application that they are registering the name ” bytechip ” as their Internet Keyword and ” bytechip .cn “、” bytechip .com.cn ” 、” bytechip .asia ” 、” bytechip .hk “domain names etc..,It is China and ASIA and HongKong domain names.But after auditing we found the brand name been used by your company. As the domain name registrar in China, it is our duty to notice you, so I am sending you this Email to check.According to the principle in China,your company is the owner of the trademark,In our auditing time we can keep the domain names safe for you firstly, but our audit period is limited, if you object the third party application these domain names and need to protect the brand in china and Asia by yourself, please let the responsible officer contact us as soon as possible. Thank you!

Best regards,

John
Oversea marketing manager
Tel:+86(0)21 6296 2950
Fax:+86(0)21 6296 1557

web:www.ygnetwork.cn

So Guys please be beware of such spammers claiming copyrights over your website. Do share your experience on this issue.

pixel Domain Name Conflict   Spammers Beware

Loading
Filed in: Web

77 Responses to “Domain Name Conflict – Spammers Beware”

  1. T Carlos
    May 24, 2010 at 5:40 am #

    We got the same email except our company’s name “Scopemed”, I googled Haitong Investment’s to see who this so called company is, Google took me here. Thank you for posting.

  2. Akim
    May 25, 2010 at 4:17 pm #

    Thanks for posting this issue fellas, got the same letter today.

  3. James
    June 5, 2010 at 10:47 pm #

    Thank you for posting and getting in the top google results for this scam company’s name. I received the exact same email (different domain).

  4. Adnan
    June 8, 2010 at 3:51 pm #

    we got the same email. Thanks for posting.

  5. Sreelekha
    June 16, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    we got this mail today… thanks for the posting

  6. Robert
    June 17, 2010 at 2:25 am #

    Got the same message today 6/15/2010

    What a scam. I am tempted to respond ans string them along with a bunch of legalese and cease and desist orders

  7. Zaman
    June 18, 2010 at 8:50 pm #

    I got same email for my company today…thanks for sharing

  8. June 22, 2010 at 4:54 pm #

    HAd the same mail, replied to them and received a price list.
    thanks for keeping us off from them
    JENS

  9. cumtux
    June 24, 2010 at 10:57 pm #

    i received mail today, tks for posting.

  10. ScolS
    July 14, 2010 at 1:50 pm #

    just received the SAME eMail.
    Thanks for posting and sharing, so we could keep safe from them!

  11. Sword
    July 20, 2010 at 7:24 am #

    Got the same email as well. Thanks for setting up this site. But it does underscore the need for us to consider registering a china domain though… if china is on your radar sometime… :)

  12. Peter
    July 29, 2010 at 3:26 pm #

    FYI …
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    From: John [mailto:john.gong@webregistry.asia]
    Sent: 29 July 2010 09:42 AM
    To: peter@therefore.co.za
    Subject: notice protect– internet trademark intellectual property safeguard

    Dear Manager:
    We are a Domain Name registration service company, which is a professional Internet Domain
    Names Registry and Internet Service Provider in China.
    On July.29th,2010, our company received HAITONG Investment company’s application that they
    are registering the name “therefore ” as their Internet Keyword and ” therefore .cn “、
    ” therefore.com.cn ” 、”therefore.asia ” 、” therefore.hk “domain names etc..,.
    It is China and ASIA and HongKong domain names.But after our confirmation,
    we found this name will conflict with your company’s name, so we send you email
    and want to confirm with you, whether your company has relation with the case ? Now this matter
    we just in the middle of handling, so we need to get your company’s opinion within the following 5 days.
    If you have any question, please let your company’s charger contact us directly & quickly. Thank you!
    Best regards,
    John
    Oversea marketing manager
    168, Xingwang Building,
    653.Nandan Road
    Xuhui District, Shanghai
    Office:+86(0)21 6191 8696
    Mobile: +86 1366152 9704
    Fax:+86(0)21 6191 8697
    web:www.webregistry.asia

  13. Nikki
    August 4, 2010 at 5:37 am #

    Yes I received the same email, thanks for the posting

  14. Patrick
    August 6, 2010 at 5:46 pm #

    Got the same e-mail yesterday. Thanks for posting.

  15. Julio
    August 12, 2010 at 8:47 pm #

    Yes I received the same email, thank you for the posting.

Leave a Reply