5:19 pm - Thursday February 9, 2012

Domain Name Conflict – Spammers Beware

  • Share
  • Share

Siddick one of the authors of ByteChip received an Email today, informing him that some Organization in China is going to start a new Investment Company by the name “ByteChip” and they sent a kind of legal (fake)  letter asking us to hand over the domain to them. Unfortunately I don’t have a category in ByteChip called “Humour” so I’m posting this on “Web” icon biggrin Domain Name Conflict   Spammers Beware .

Have a look at the crap Email sent by the person.

Dear Manager:

We are a Domain Name registration service company, which is a professional Internet Domain Name Registration and dispute resolution organization in China.
On March.24th,2010, We received HAITONG Investment company’s application that they are registering the name ” bytechip ” as their Internet Keyword and ” bytechip .cn “、” bytechip .com.cn ” 、” bytechip .asia ” 、” bytechip .hk “domain names etc..,It is China and ASIA and HongKong domain names.But after auditing we found the brand name been used by your company. As the domain name registrar in China, it is our duty to notice you, so I am sending you this Email to check.According to the principle in China,your company is the owner of the trademark,In our auditing time we can keep the domain names safe for you firstly, but our audit period is limited, if you object the third party application these domain names and need to protect the brand in china and Asia by yourself, please let the responsible officer contact us as soon as possible. Thank you!

Best regards,

John
Oversea marketing manager
Tel:+86(0)21 6296 2950
Fax:+86(0)21 6296 1557

web:www.ygnetwork.cn

So Guys please be beware of such spammers claiming copyrights over your website. Do share your experience on this issue.

pixel Domain Name Conflict   Spammers Beware

Loading
Filed in: Web

77 Responses to “Domain Name Conflict – Spammers Beware”

  1. March 26, 2010 at 12:40 am #

    well..
    I just got one of those! first I was concerned.. but if you say it’s spam.. well, I don’t give a ..
    thanks for the post!

  2. March 26, 2010 at 10:28 am #

    Once i got such a spam mail, unfortunate thing is now akismet is also failing to catch spams :( .
    .-= Anish K.S´s latest blog ..Download Autorun Eater v2.5 Beta 2 =-.

    • March 27, 2010 at 10:22 am #

      Akismet ?? Dude I got this mail on Gmail. What has akismet got to do with it?

  3. March 26, 2010 at 2:44 pm #

    Luckily I didn’t received any kind of mail yet. But I will surely keep in mind about this kind of scam.
    .-= Whiztechy´s latest blog ..Winners of contest for Handy Backup software license codes =-.

    • March 27, 2010 at 10:21 am #

      Ya, they send at random. The mail first kind of built some tension on ByteChip team. Later we found out that its fraudulent one.

    • March 28, 2010 at 7:13 pm #

      same here . …didn’t received any kind of scam mail …..!!!!! :D ….
      .-= Dev | Technshare´s latest blog ..30+ Inspirational Social Bookmarking Sites =-.

    • March 29, 2010 at 7:59 am #

      Ya very few are receiving that bro, in my friends list, its just me who got that mail

  4. March 29, 2010 at 11:02 am #

    after you have a domain , nobody can snatch you. If if you are violating copyright , they may issue a warning , but wont ask the domain back .

    Like if i design my site to look exactly like wordpress , they may issue an DCMA , but if its like any other blog , i wont have trouble like the hundred others who are using “wordpress” in their domain name
    .-= Sourish | WordPress Install Guide´s latest blog ..Professional WordPress Installation =-.

    • March 29, 2010 at 11:07 am #

      Yup we were aware of that, So we first thought of selling this domain for a big amount ($$$$$) Finally turned out to be a joke on us :D

  5. Rambeau
    April 14, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

    Thanks for posting this article. I have a metal finishing company and just rec'd the same email about my domain name . At first I was very concerned, but found your post on Google search. So now I not only get emails from the Nigerians, about all the money they want to launder through me after one of their great uncles, fathers, or someone off the street that they saw once died, but also the Chinese. Wonderful!!!

    • April 16, 2010 at 4:15 am #

      Hey Rambeau, Thanks for sharing your experience, Perhaps such kind of spams should be considered seriously by email providers.

  6. April 15, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

    It's a scam. We, Piano Teacher USA, got the same exact email. Why would a company in China want to be called Piano Teacher USA?

  7. April 16, 2010 at 12:22 am #

    This is a scam! We, Piano Teacher USA, just got the exact same email. Why would a company in China want to be called Piano Teacher USA? Obviously someone is trying to bully us into buying domain names.

  8. sfrasher
    April 16, 2010 at 4:13 pm #

    Thank you very much for the warning. I got the exact same email today for 3 of our websites! Only the date and URL were different. I was concerned with the first one, then the 2nd one came and I thought “scam”. Then the 3rd one hit! What are the odds of all 3 being overtaken. Google sent me here for confirmation with “Haitong Investment”. Thanks again!

  9. April 26, 2010 at 8:23 pm #

    Our company received the exact email (only the name has been changed to ours. It created enough of an initial concern for it to cross several desks for a short period of time. Thanks for posting this.

  10. April 27, 2010 at 1:53 am #

    Our company received the exact email (only the name has been changed to ours. It created enough of an initial concern for it to cross several desks for a short period of time. Thanks for posting this.

  11. May 3, 2010 at 6:54 pm #

    I received the same email as above from John and the HAITONG Investment company. Thank you for keeping us up to date. I have deleted the emails.
    Tony

  12. May 3, 2010 at 11:31 pm #

    I got the same email, thanks for posting article.

  13. mkjbrands
    May 9, 2010 at 10:40 pm #

    To think, I thought my company “made it” when I received the same e-mail indicating a Chinese firm wants my domain. LOL, reminds me of that HP commercial about going “national” before going “global”.

  14. May 11, 2010 at 7:29 pm #

    yah , i got it sometime back , its bogus

  15. May 16, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    Me from DotNetFunda.Com

    I have received the same email from the same person (only domain name has changed). I was searching for this and found this post.

    I assume this is one of the trick of Spamming. Thank you for sharing. Please let us know any further development on this issue.

    Thank you
    Best regards
    Sheo Narayan

Leave a Reply