Siddick one of the authors of ByteChip received an Email today, informing him that some Organization in China is going to start a new Investment Company by the name “ByteChip” and they sent a kind of legal (fake) letter asking us to hand over the domain to them. Unfortunately I don’t have a category in ByteChip called “Humour” so I’m posting this on “Web”
.
Have a look at the crap Email sent by the person.
“ Dear Manager:We are a Domain Name registration service company, which is a professional Internet Domain Name Registration and dispute resolution organization in China.
On March.24th,2010, We received HAITONG Investment company’s application that they are registering the name ” bytechip ” as their Internet Keyword and ” bytechip .cn “、” bytechip .com.cn ” 、” bytechip .asia ” 、” bytechip .hk “domain names etc..,It is China and ASIA and HongKong domain names.But after auditing we found the brand name been used by your company. As the domain name registrar in China, it is our duty to notice you, so I am sending you this Email to check.According to the principle in China,your company is the owner of the trademark,In our auditing time we can keep the domain names safe for you firstly, but our audit period is limited, if you object the third party application these domain names and need to protect the brand in china and Asia by yourself, please let the responsible officer contact us as soon as possible. Thank you!
Best regards,
John
Oversea marketing manager
Tel:+86(0)21 6296 2950
Fax:+86(0)21 6296 1557
On March.24th,2010, We received HAITONG Investment company’s application that they are registering the name ” bytechip ” as their Internet Keyword and ” bytechip .cn “、” bytechip .com.cn ” 、” bytechip .asia ” 、” bytechip .hk “domain names etc..,It is China and ASIA and HongKong domain names.But after auditing we found the brand name been used by your company. As the domain name registrar in China, it is our duty to notice you, so I am sending you this Email to check.According to the principle in China,your company is the owner of the trademark,In our auditing time we can keep the domain names safe for you firstly, but our audit period is limited, if you object the third party application these domain names and need to protect the brand in china and Asia by yourself, please let the responsible officer contact us as soon as possible. Thank you!
Oversea marketing manager
Tel:+86(0)21 6296 2950
Fax:+86(0)21 6296 1557
web:www.ygnetwork.cn “
So Guys please be beware of such spammers claiming copyrights over your website. Do share your experience on this issue.


I received the same email this mornin april 25th. Did you guys notice the terrible use of grammar. If they really wanted to sell me maybe they could us something better than an online translator.
Me too.
The same thing happened to me. and I replied to them ” Hi John, thanks for your advise. next time you see the so called Haitong Invest company, please go and fuck them over.”
Same here,
Thank you for your post buddy, i have a fraud mail from John. He said that my another domain name will order by Haitong company (China) .cn and .asia. So for protect my property he offering me to buy this domain. Thank you by checking on Google i was find your post.
Thanks..
The crazy part is that the domains are actually purchased, not in use, but there’s always that thought in my mind that I could be messed up if someone buys those names and pours a ton of money into seo. Hope your site is doing alright.
I just got an email just like that today. At first, I was thinking that it would be an awesome deal to possibly sell our domain. After looking at this, it’s obviously a scam… but is there any real threat to my search results? I agree with Dan, there has to be something that we can do to prevent trade names/domain names from being stolen.
I also received the “Haitong” letter. Because it was not directly asking for money, I called the folks I pay for my domain, Network Solutions. They said this is legal, that “cn” is the domain ending for China and the only way I can stop them is to buy my domain with a cn ending. With this info I responded to the letter that I did not give my approval. I received a response from ygnetworkltd.com offering to send me a price list to purchase the cn sites. Meanwhile, the web site for ygnetworkltd does not exist.
Same here but i was offer them to buyout domain
I found the exact same e-mail in my e-mail inbox today (with my own website/domain substituted, of course.) Same bad grammar, same scam.
Here is my reply that I sent back to this scammer:
John,
Of course I object to thieves in China trying to steal my domain name. You should not even have to ask this question.
So please simply deny any similar domain names to any crooks and thieves who are trying to steal them and are trying to mislead people, and do not contact me or anyone else associated with any other internet domain about this matter. You should not even have to ask. No, it is not okay for someone to steal someone else’s internet domain name, ever. Are the Chinese completely lacking in moral values or something so that you would think that this is okay? If so, you can all go fuck yourselves. And never email me or any other honest domain owners again.
Furthermore, I will be posting warnings about this scam on the internet, and I will also notify the proper authorities. The USA Navy Seals already took out Osama bin Laden. You’re next.
Sincerely,
Yo’ Mama
My answer from Russia to Haitong letter:
“Hey John,
I googled some interesting facts about HAITONG company. It seems that this company is a very large one. And it has interest
in all areas of business. Now I see why Chinese economics is growing so fast. I want to help them! I will gladly sell my domain
to them for only 10 billions dollars (I am sure it’s not too much for World’s leading company as Haitong). I even can give you some money, John, from this deal. Say, $5 is OK? And you can buy some food.
Sincerely,
Eugene “
Me too. Juz ignore it, if he want to buy, show me the price. I will think about it.